ANOTHER ONE OF MY TWOPENCE
18th February 2016

After prayer time, my class was at the door chanting ‘Chinese! Chinese! Chinese!’ loudly as a chinese mom pass by after picking up her son from Year 1.

Then I heard Mr. Andre of Year 4 yelling at my class. I went out to catch a few bits of what he said…

‘Stop!! Stop calling her that, its very inappropriate and rude! I wonder who is teaching you that.’

The last bit stung me a little bit being in the moment. I asked him what happened. He said they were chanting at the lady and it’s very inappropriate and racist.

By then my class was already quiet and 2 of my girls, Faten and Yara were on the verge of tears. I asked them all to settle down and asked the 2 girls why they were chanting.

Yara said it was because she didn’t know her name.

Faten in between tears told me that she was just very excited about learning chinese with the lady.

I remembered 2 days ago during gardening, the lady said hello to my class and told them she was going to teach chinese class at school for free. The whole class was very excited about learning a new language because the day before that we were having a discussion and found out how many languages we each can speak. That we are all multilingual. We were very proud of ourselves. I told them too, not to be mean to others who can’t speak English very well because it meant the person speaks another language.

Faten got upset because Mr. Andre was upset with her. I told the class that Mr. Andre did not undertand why they were chanting, that’s why he got upset. That he was wrong to scream at them like that.

At the end of the day, I told Faten and Yara to go up to Mr. Andre and explain why they were chanting at the lady just as they have told me so that he would understand. He should say sorry to them for yelling at them when they did nothing wrong.

Youth delinquency is primarily adult delinquency.

