Christmas is an emotional time for me. I know I’ll be perfectly fine if I don’t get any presents as long as I have at least one of my siblings around. This year is not the first time I spent it alone, you know not having family around, but this time turned out very well.

20131225-200111.jpg

Here is a list of customary things I do every Christmas eve:
1. Cooking for Christmas dinner
2. Wrapping and giving out Christmas presents , setting up Christmas decor
3. Exchange gifts of any type
4. Opening up presents at midnight of 24th
5. Christmas games
6. Carolling
7. House-hopping in the neighborhood- mostly to collect Christmas presents from uncles, aunties and relatives, hahaha!
8. Exchanging leftover food
9. Planning for New Year’s eve
10. Pray with fam at midnight

This year, I got to do- 1,2, 3,4, 5, 9 & 10!!!! Amazing, eh?

20131225-201205.jpg

I and my roommates Lem and Joyce cooked Ossobuco, Brazo de Mercedez, spaghetti, biko, hot choco, and porkchop good for 6 people. Then we had a bottle of Mont Clair sparkling rose and a basketful of fruits.

I had so much fun decking my halls with my accumulated Christmas thingamajigs plus my freshly bought IKEA 1D tree!!! What a space-saver!

20131225-200744.jpg

I bought this little table tops at Daiso last year, still have the batteries on it fresh.

20131225-201241.jpg

I got this cookie jar from Chi Alpha Bangkok’s garage sale early this year.

20131225-201106.jpg

Wrapping presents this year was admittedly a little tricky for me, whatwith a job termination and SMDC but Christmas never is if this is not done! Hahaha!

20131225-201058.jpg

I got this wrappers from IKEA soon after Christmas, by the way, that is the best time to buy Christmas accessories NOT a week before the event! I got three rolls of five yard varities that came in with cards! I love how Christmas brings out my creative alter-ego every single time!

20131225-201113.jpg

The Christmas Eve service at ICA Bangkok this year was as magical as last year’s or every other year for that matter. Pastor Kevin shared the story of how Peanuts creator Charles Schulz is a Christian and how he would teach the world about the true meaningof Christmas through his cartoon characters.

The candle lighting was mesmerising, too and very warm to the heart.

20131225-201158.jpg

After the service, we headed straight home to dinner waiting for us, along with our 2 guests. After dinner, we had games, exchanged gifts, laughed our hearts out and shared about our troubles and what we missed about Christmas.

20131225-200726.jpg

The highlight? Well, we prayed before going to bed at 3am. After all the chitchat, it feels good to be able to thank the Lord for the past year, lift up to him all our cares and commit to him the coming year, He afterall, was born to be our Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father and our Prince of Peace!

That is my Christmas Eve tradition.

Merry Christmas! Maligayang Pasko! Naragsak a Paskua! Suksan Wan Kristmas! God Jul! Maayong Pasko!

Isaiah 9:6 ‘For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.’

