Thailand is a country full of people who loves their grain of SALT!


Image

Hahaha, no, not really, that was kinda bit of a stretch. Their food is generally more spicy than salty. But my first line was an outburst upon tasting Starbucks MegaBangna branch’s Salted Caramel Mocha.
Whereelse in the world would you find a cupful of caramel mocha frappucino with toffee nut and cream topping AND a double pinch-ful of grains of SALT? Well, Starbucks is global but I don’t think this outrageous and gutsy, if I must say, idea would come from Pinoys or Americans!!! Well, I sure do hope not…Only in Thailand!
Image
To underscore my point on how Thais love their grain of SALT- try going down the soi and finding a fresh orange juice squeeze hawker. And wait…watch the whole process. They will cut the oranges in front of you, and with a metal orange puncher, they’ll squeeze off the juice straight into a plastic bottle. Hold it! Watch carefully and don’t blink- did you see it?? They’ll add a pinch of salt into your juice!! They first time my roommate saw it, she was disgusted! I mean, who puts salt into their orange juice?? When asked why they do it, Phi Kha would explain its to even out the sour taste just like how people sprinkle salt into a freshly cut pineapple- its supposed to lessen the biting sensation that comes along with the sweet freshness. I myself would admit to rolling a pebble of salt like I would a Werther’s Classic Caramel candy in my mouth just before bed. Someone told me it helps give a soothing relief from the burning sensation acidic people experience in their chests when lying down.
Matthew 5:13
“You are the salt of the earth. But what good is salt if it has lost its flavor? Can you make it salty again? It will be thrown out and trampled underfoot as worthless.
