Since starting blogging, I have been surfing in the blog world and have realized what a shame I only found out about this now, after my third trip to Europe! I have been to Sweden, Norway, Finland, France, Switzerland and Italy, and thank God I made a kind of a photoblog in albums in my Facebook! I have a lot to blog about each of the countries I have visited and I hope its not too late to do that. My hope is that somehow, in each of the entries I will be making, people reading it will not only feel as though they have already toured with me in these places but that they will realize how faithful God has been to me.
Image
SWEDEN
Image
This is practically my ‘homebase’ in Europe because I have family there. I have been around most parts of the country, mostly in the capital city Stockholm but everytime I go, I never ran out of places to go, things to do and seasons to experience!
Image
I have only been there thrice and each time, I made sure it was a different season.
The first time was WINTER!
Image
I was completely psyched when my brother-in-law promised to stop by a frozen lake on our way back from church! I was practically walking on water!!
Image
The second was SUMMER!
Image
We got to visit different castles, apple orchards and sights.
Image
The fambam went for a dip in Stromstad because they said it was ‘warm’ water temp was 18 degrees!! not me!!
Image
Another psyched out moment was me going deep into scandinavian forests to pick wild mushrooms and berries I have only seen in books and pictures!!
Image
We picked cloudberries, lingonberries, suckleberries, red, white and black currants, raspberries, strawberries, blueberries and all other sorts of berries that don’t even have English names because they are only available in Scandinavia!
Image
This latest one was SPRING!
Image
Yet another psyched out moment was last Spring. This was supposedly the season with the highest temperature but also they said ‘the craziest time of the year’. Why? They have what they call ‘April Weather’ where one moment its sunny and bright…
Image
Image
the next its snowing or hail is pounding on your ย car rooftops!
Image
CRAYFISH FESTIVAL
This Swedish festival happens during the summer/autumn equinox. It supposed to be a real grand celebration but we had just came back from a trip to the summerhouse so we had a simple one at home.
Image
MIDSOMMAR
This is one Swedish festival I want to experience next when I take my Autumn in Europe trip. This photo below is my Swedish sister during her first Midsommar (midsummer). Last Spring flower of different colours and kinds spring out from anywhere you would never imagine, even gaps between cobblestone in the city so I know it is not an expensive festival. I can just grab flowers off the sidewalk and make a wreath out of it. ๐Ÿ™‚
Image
If I could only fit all photos here, all three albums full ๐Ÿ™‚ But its alright…The Autumn trip will be a full blog entry, hahaha!!
Growing up, life was very tough for us sibblings and never had the thought of going back and forth to Europe crossed my mind, but I always felt that true luxury can only be experienced in Europe. I was never the kind who thought America was the ‘land of milk and honey’. I know the pictures I posted here did not really show luxury in Europe but to me it kinda felt that way. Someday soon, I hope to blog about luxury in Europe.
But all this would not have happened without the hand of God moving in our lives. Maybe someday I will be able to show you how ‘tough’ life really was for us, too. Maybe..
