Before this three-week holiday even began, I am already hooked on Sony TV’s ‘The Borgias’. My roommate always makes fun of me because she thinks my mood swings are highly influenced by what I see on TV. Well, she’s right but TV is just one of the many. My recent favourite is about a renaissance family that birthed the sin of ‘Simony’.

Image

I like it not because I love history because I don’t but because I love how the plot struggled to shed a light, true or not, on who Lucrezia Borgia really was. Her father Rodrigo Borgia, who  by the way is POPE ALEXANDER VI, juggled between the sibling rivalry of Lucrezia’ older brothers Cesare and Juan.

Image

Lucrezia’s role was played by the angelic Holliday Grainger. I have never heard, rather noticed her in any of the movies or TV shows I have seen before, but she captivated me here. I thought she was not only enigmatic but she played the role really well underscoring on the subtle rise of women in power using their charm and beauty. History tells us that she was a wicked woman who mastered the art of poison but this TV series is casting a cloud of doubt on whether it was the full truth or was she just another victim of male ego at play.

