Plan A was- there’ll be no Christmas decors going up on the relatively spacious 2-bedroom condo I share with my roommate Lem. In the past, it was always a big fuss for me, not her, come November. I have a total of 2 boxes of Christmas tree trimmings, lights, stockings even candles. And these year I have acquired even more Christmas stuff but I decided Plan A was not to do it. Not because I have turned into a ‘Grinch’ or something. It’s because this year we have decided on spending Christmas and New Year in Malaysia and Singapore.

Image

But yesterday, hanging out slash working on-line at MegaBangna, I decided to have my usual tour down to the ‘AS IS’ pit to get my latest IKEA bargain. On my way down, I saw what IKEA has for Christmas this year- wrapping paper, lights, balls, wreaths candles and even pillow cases! Oh, how I missed sweeping my eyes to a vast array of choices for the Christmas holidays!

I know back in the Philippines, people have already started Christmas shopping since September, the -ber months, we call it. Christmas music has been ringing everywhere since and Christmas lights and decors adorned the facade of each house since but not here in Thailand.
I have been living in a Buddhist country for close to nine years now but the spirit of celebrating the birth of Jesus will never die in me. I still have that same hunger to make the season as colourful and happy as I can. The unquenchable thirst to give is still there.
Image
Of course the true meaning of Christmas is not the lights and the colours but remembering the birth of the baby in the humble manger who would later die on the cross to give mankind salvation. It’s celebrating the spirit of giving, the way He gave His life on the cross so you and me could have eternal life.

I don’t think I can let the season go without me taking part in it and when we fly to Malaysia on the 21st, I will leave the curtains to my glass windows open so people passing by will know that the missing residents of this flat celebrates Jesus, too!
Isaiah 9:6
For to us a child is born, to us a son is given: and the government shall be on his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counselor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.
