So I have three weeks off from my day job as an English Program Teacher at a Thai School and I have absolutely zero plans of going anywhere unless boredom got the best of me halfway through and I decide to backpack to Kho Samui.

WORK. WORK. WORK.

Aside from this compulsive late getting-out-bed routine on a daily basis, I still work my afternoons with my ‘night job’, as I called it. I ‘recycle’ news for an on-line traffic web company, do some minor editing and make ads for on-line clients and get paid via Paypal monthly. I love this job and is extremely grateful for the opportunity to channel my journalist alter-ego. I was a journalism enthusiast since High School but ended up being an Early Years teacher and I thank God for opportunities like this, which by the way pays good money considering I have no professional background in Advertising or Journalism.

Hang Outs

Well, while working, I also get to hang out at the best spots in town, as long as its got WIFI, I’m good to go. You’ll probably bump into me if you ran your errands mostly at J Avenue Thonglor soi 15.

Image

They have the best Clam Chowder soup at Au Bon Pain, the best Strawberry Yoghurt Bubble Tea at ChaChaCha, the best Banana and Cheese Gelato ice cream at iBerry and all the whatnots at Daiso on the second floor. There’s also Villa Market where you get international goodies you won’t find in Gourmet Market or BigC supercenter.

http://theretail.wordpress.com/2010/07/28/j-avenue-thonglor-15/

SHOPPING

This three-week holiday, I want to make time and go back to Asiatique. Its easy to get there even for tourists. Just take the BTS train to Saphan Taksin station. At the bottom of the stairs from the train station, you will find the pier along the Chao Phraya River. People Queueing up for ‘Asiatique’ should be visible. A FREE shuttle boat will take you there. It was newly open when I first went to visit and I was kinda bored, not much to look at and window shop at but the place looked promising. A definite must go to.

Image

http://gothailand.about.com/od/bangkokshopping/p/Asiatique.htm

SIGHTSEEING

Here’s one that I am not really interested at first, but hearing a wide range of demography rave about it made me want to go there to- the Chocolate Ville. No, its not the Hansel-and-Gretel type of fantasy, which makes me raise my eyebrows. Apparently, there is nothing chocolatey about it! One’s gotta see it to judge it, I guess! 555

Image

http://bk.asia-city.com/restaurants/news/chocolate-ville

SPORTS

I really want to make some catching up on my swings. The last time the irons my sister Bella gave me years ago have had some swings was nearly two months ago. I love this driving range I walked into along Sukhumvit, a tray of balls only cost me 60 baht. Its close to where I live and close to where I want to hang out at after my driving sessions. Gotta love it!

Image

https://foursquare.com/v/42-teeoff-driving-range/4b6ea730f964a5206bc52ce3

WEEKENDS

My weekends are non-negotiable and I love it!

Saturdays are packed with the ‘Stranger in the Manger’ Christmas Musical 2012 rehearsals from 1-4. The 1-hour extension signals the nearing of the performance day and everyone is invited because it’s FREE ADMISSION!! Click the link below to know where you can find us!

Image

https://www.facebook.com/pages/International-Christian-Assembly-Bangkok-ICA/297232183624876

Sundays are the best times of the week for me. Its worship time! Working with a passionate bunch of volunteers that minister to our ICA Kids every Sunday are terribly inspiring!

Image

Psalm 122:1

I was glad when they said unto me, Let us go into the house of the LORD.

